#TIFF13 Film Review: ONLY LOVERS LEFT ALIVE by Jim Jarmusch

IMG_2280Well, it’s been way too long.

This year I decided to do the Toronto International Film Festival for the first time, and let me just say, it is off to a fantastic start, and I’m here to tell you all about it.

Today I saw ONLY LOVERS LEFT ALIVE by Jim Jarmusch, and starring Tilda Swinton, Tom Hiddleston, Anton Yelchin, Mia Wosikowska and John Hurt.

This was really exciting for me because I’ve been waiting for this film since it was announced.

The film was fantastic. A perfect, beautiful and very different homage to the tirelessly beaten vampire lore in today’s pop culture.

It was definitely my kind of film, and very different from a lot of films I have seen in the past. It was my first Jim Jarmusch film, so I was unfamiliar with it. It took a couple of minutes to get used to the pacing, but by the end, it was just perfect, and I found myself just admiring how beautiful the film was on every level.

Adam and Eve, played by Hiddleston and Swinton respectively, were the perfect partnership. Not just because aesthetically, they are very beautiful people, but their nuances just fit, and I found myself falling in love with them as a whole, together. I can only hope that I will have the kind of love they had for each other in my own life one day.

Hiddleston’s character was so…layered. Beautiful, I think is the word I would use. As a whole, he was the representation of helplessness, of the frustration that comes from being human, even though he himself is an immortal vampire. He had bad days, he had good days. He loved, cherished and felt weak. He was strong, and he was vulnerable, and he was so very human on that regard. Adam was real, and tangible, and just absolutely fantastic.OnlyLoversLeftAlive

Eve was lovely, strong and compassionate. She loved, and loves deeply. She valued her husband, and adored and loved him in the way she does best: by being there for him. By giving him the space he needed, while always reminding him that she is always there upon his reach, and being there when he needed her the most. She was such a strong presence in his life, and together, they made perfection.

Aesthetically, Jarmusch showed this through their costumes. Ying and Yang, with Adam constantly in black, and Eve in white. They created harmony and balanced each other, while Eva (Wosikowska), Eve’s little sister and the bane of Adam’s existence, was the firey presence that set them aflame for a moment, before burning out and away from their lives, again. She was the spark that reminds them, from time to time, that no matter how hard, no matter how contemptuous they can be for everyone and everything, especially those fucking zombies (read: humans), they will always have each other. 

The film, I believe, was about the love these two characters have for each other, and how they exist in their world today. Eve in Tangier, Adam in Detroit, then together and away. They dealt with loneliness and death, and they conquered it. They overcame, and continue to overcome their vulnerabilities. They maybe vampires, but all of this, everything made them very much human amongst the sea of zombies. Not only does this film critique the world we live in, but it also invites the viewer to examine their own vulnerabilities, and their wants, needs and desires to feel, love and cherish.

A definite recommendation.

PS: Since this was at TIFF, it had a short Q&A session with Jim Jarmusch, Tom Hiddleston and Anton Yelchin. Such wonderful gentlemen, and Yelchin spoke about Detroit as if he left a part of his soul in it, my heart wrenched for him.

1 comment
  1. Great review of a film I’m dying to see. And my Detroiter heart is so pleased by the last comment.

Leave a Reply

