#TIFF14: Selection Day + Praises to the staff!

I’m back! With more films to add to my list after Back Half Package selection day. I’m going to jump right into it:

SCARLET INNOCENCE (Yim Pil-Sung – South Korea) – September 4 – Ryerson Theatre – 6:00PM 

Photo from tiff.net

This actually wasn’t part of the package, as it is premiering on the first day of the festival! This is my second year only, and to have a film at the first day is a big deal. To have a featured City to City film selection makes it even better! (Loosely) Based on the Korean fairytale The Story of Simcheong, which has always been a father-daughter story, the director changed it to a story between two strangers, who fall in love and then later become adversaries. I’m excited for this.

GOODBYE TO LANGUAGE (Jean-Luc Godard – France) – September 10 – Ryerson Theatre – 6:00PM

Photo from tiff.net

Godard. 3-D. Winner of the Jury Prize at this year’s Cannes Film Festival. My interest in Godard stems from quite late introduction to his work during my graduate studies, specifically his work in the 60s. My desire to see this film definitely stems from that, and the fact that I am just curious to see exactly why it won the Jury Prize. 

SHELTER (Paul Bettany – USA) – September 12 – Elgin Theatre – 6:00PM

Photo from tiff.net

Two homeless people, one a drug addict, another with a dark, secretive paths. Even though they’re both living in the streets, they occupy two different worlds. This is Paul Bettany’s directorial debut, and it’s also his screenplay. It sounds rather cliche, but I’d like to give it a shot. There’s something quite human in this whole thing, and I want I’m definitely curious to see where it takes it all. 

99 HOMES (Ramin Bahrani – USA) – September 13 – Princess of Wales – 10:00PM

Photo from tiff.net

All about the foreclosure of houses in Florida. An unemployed construction worker has recently lost his family’s home and is forced to work with the very man that was the cause of it all to get it back. Desperate and rooted in reality, I cannot wait to see this film. So far, it’s my closing film of the festival.

So yes, so far, I have this 8 films on the docket, plus one more voucher to claim. I will use it to Rush films between the 9th to the 14th, and hopefully get something going for me. We’ll definitely see, as 8 films in the bag before the festival even started is definitely a big rise from last year. 

I’m going to try my luck on rushing PRIDE, THE IMITATION GAME and THE DROP. HECTOR AND THE SEARCH FOR HAPPINESS is coming out at the end of the month in regular theatres, and the film NOBLE that I’ve been waiting to be part of this festival gets a release this month as well (I hope it gets released in Canada). So after the festival, I’m back in regular theatres! 

I cannot wait for the festival to start! It’s been great already and I just got my tickets. I had to call for help twice, and both times the phone agents were fantastic. And the ones right at the box office were very pleasant as well when I picked up my tickets. It was fantastic customer service and I was very impress!

Leave a Reply

